Implementation of regional policy actions in Latvia and elaboration of regional development measures



On 18 December 2009 the Donor States (Norway, Iceland and Lichtenstein) reached the agreement with the European Commission (EC) about allocation of the financial assistance for the implementation of the European Economic Area Financial Mechanism (EEA FM) and the Norwegian Financial Mechanism (NFM) in the new planning period 2009-2014. On 28 July 2010 the agreements were signed between the EC and the Donor States for provision of the financial assistance.

The overall objectives of the Financial Mechanisms 2009-2014 are to contribute to the reduction of economic and social disparities within the EEA and to the strengthen bilateral relations between the Donor States and the Beneficiary State.

The aim of the Norwegian Financial Mechanism programme Capacity-Building and Institutional Cooperation between Latvian and Norwegian Public Institutions, Local and Regional Authorities (Programme) is to increase institutional and human resources capacity at public, regional and local institutions responsible for regional development by cooperating and sharing experience with similar institutions in Norway.

More detailed information about Norwegian Financial Mechanism is available:

Additional information about Programme is available:

Project title: Implementation of regional policy actions in Latvia and elaboration of regional development measures

Project aim is to strengthen capacity of Latvian municipality and planning regions and support them in dealing with entrepreneurship promotion issues.

Total costs: EUR 1 172 029 equivalent in Latvian lats.

Project promoter: Ministry of Environmental Protection and Regional Development.
Project partners in Latvia: Latgale, Vidzeme, Rīga, Zemgale and Kurzeme planning regions.
Project partners in Norway: Ministry of Local Governments and Regional Development of Norway, Oppland County and Aust-Agder County.

Target groups are municipalities, planning regions, state institutions, non-governmental organizations, which represent entrepreneurs, prospective investors, entrepreneurs, higher education institutions, and individuals.